It’s no secret that alcohol and violent assaults are linked. Sometimes a bar fight can start over something as simple as bumping into somebody or accidentally spilling a drink on them. Bar fights are easy to avoid, but with their extreme nature, they can quickly be more trouble than they are worth.

Under Wisconsin’s battery laws and disorderly conduct laws, you could be arrested if you are involved in an argument at a bar, whether it escalates to a physical confrontation or not. A bar fight can lead to a variety of charges, including:

  • Disorderly conduct results from indecent, violent, abusive, profane or unreasonably loud behavior that tends to cause or provoke a disturbance. This is a Class B misdemeanor that carries up to 90 days in jail, up to a $1,000 fine or a combination of both.
  • Misdemeanor Battery occurs if a person intentionally causes bodily harm to another without the person’s consent. This is a Class A misdemeanor that carries up to nine months in jail and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Substantial battery occurs when someone intentionally causes substantial bodily harm. Substantial bodily harm includes things like lacerations, fractured and broken bones, tooth loss, burns or concussions. This is a Class 1 felony punishable by up to 3.5 years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Aggravated battery is the intent to cause great bodily harm, which is an injury that causes long-term consequences, including a risk of death or long-term permanent impairment. This is a Class H felony punishable up to six years in prison and up to $10,000 fine.

Wisconsin disorderly conduct and battery charges are serious and can lead to severe legal ramifications. Regardless of the charges you may be facing, there is a lot at stake. It’s vital to seek qualified legal counsel to protect your rights against serious charges.